top of page

It's been a while...

Wow! June already, and I haven't posted anything since December or so.


Well, let's rectify that, shall we?


Late April, early May, I acquired some ash boards from a MTFCA forum member. These boards will be used to make new body sills. As you recall, I am drafting a set of drawings to make those sills. The boards are still wrapped in shipping cardboard and are safely tucked into my basement. The supplier I was going to go with cannot get the dimensional board size I needed due to an insect infestation at their source. And no lumber yard around me carries it, either. Or deliver, for that matter.


I also acquired, for a possible future retro fit, a set of Schrader 777 valve stems with covers. These will be used to replace the modern rubber valve stems on current reproduction inner tubes.


I went to the Mid-Atlantic Pre-war Swap Meet in Luray, VA in the middle of May. I had not ever previously gone to this meet, but I can tell you I will attend again. There, I got a set of really nice original engine pans, a spare tire carrier, and a set of "Shop Rollers". Shop rollers are, in other words, tires that are not useful for anything other than rolling a chassis around. Not meant for driving.


A purchase in the heat of the moment, garnered me a set of side curtains. Although they say they are for a 23 Touring I do not believe that. I'm not exactly sure what they are for but I don't think it's a touring. A current set of curtains for my touring cost over $700 dollars. These were SIGNIFICANTLY cheaper than that.


And finally, I got a less than perfect radiator to use to mock up my cowl and hood on my Centerdoor project, also from another MTFCA member. It will hold water, just enough to run and test an engine, if I desire to do so. But, with the closing of Berg's Radiator, eventually a new one from Brassworks will be required.







I didn't photograph the spare tire carrier, as I just recently removed it from my trunk nor did I photograph the engine pans. Once I do, I will re-edit this post to show them.


The only body parts I need now are four fenders and two splash aprons. The aprons are different for a Centerdoor than for a touring of the same year. I'll have to be careful.

Recent Posts

See All

My Blog Continues....

If you've reached this page, please continue the adventure with me at: https://army30th.wixsite.com/centerdoor-ii

bottom of page